Kristoffer Gildenlöw


Independant Artist: (2012–present)

2012/2013: Kristoffer’s career as an independent artist took flight with the release of his debut album:  RUST (2012), which featured a wide range of music and guest musicians. RUST was originally released as a limited edition, deluxe LP; the CD version of RUST (2013) was released almost a year later via Glassville Records.
"Fragile, dark, melancholic and soothing is the theme as Kristoffer Gildenlöw’s RUST takes us on a sentimental journey through memories and dreams. Although this is not a concept album in any way, there is a red line throughout the album, dealing with youth, growing old, death and finding peace in life. The music is a personal emotional journey with a singer songwriter feel, ambient art rock moods and even touches of folk. Gildenlöw had been working on RUST for 6 years. Using whatever he needed to get the feeling right. RUST ended up with 27 guests on the album including Ruud Jolie (Within Temptation), Fredrik Hermansson (former Pain of Salvation), Ola Hedén (former Flower Kings) and Wudstik (For All We Know, Ayreon)"

2014/2015: Kristoffer Gildenlöw is also known for his humanitarian efforts surrounding his highly acclaimed single, Pass the Torch, which was written, composed, arranged, produced, mixed and mastered exclusively by Gildenlöw for the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, an organization in Kenya that rescues orphaned baby elephants and fight ivory poaching. The single is available as a digital download and streaming with the following quote from Kristoffer: "I wrote this song exclusively for The David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust to raise awareness and money to support their great cause of saving orphaned elephants and rhinos in Africa. All money made on this song, now and in the future, will go directly to"
A wide variety of international musicians participated on this single, including members of Haken, Afflector, Pain of Salvation, The Dolmen and even a whole school class.

2015/2016: Media hype has begun for Gildenlöw's second album, 'The Rain'. 'The Rain' features Fredrik Hermansson (former Pain of Salvation) on piano, Lars Erik Asp (Gazpacho) on drums and percussion, Paul Coenradie (Valentine) on guitar, Anne Bakker (Blaze Bayley) on violins and vocals and Maaike Peterse (Ayreon, Kingfisher Sky and Kovacs) on cello. Gildenlöw: "As `RUST’ had more of a “theme” of growing older and coming to terms with past and future, the new album does have an actual concept to it. The new album is about the struggles and life of a man with dementia - Alzheimer’s disease. Each song will deal with different memories, emotions, and ideas and this creates a good bone structure for the whole concept of the album."
‘The Rain’ was financed with a successful crowd funding that took place in the Autumn of 2015.
In April 2016, ‘The Rain’ was officially released for digital sales and internet sales via MRR. To celebrate this, Kristoffer performed the whole album from beginning to end with an 11-piece live band, including a spectacular video and light show that kept the audience spellbound throughout the whole show.
In October 2016, Kristoffer signed a contract with MARS Worldwide for an official release and distribution of ‘The Rain’.

Early Years: (1978 - 1994)

David Kristoffer Gildenlöw was born on July 27’th 1978 in Eskilstuna, Sweden.
Growing up on the countryside, Kristoffer bounded with nature in a very special way.
This can be heard throughout his songwriting where he regularly brings up the connection to nature. At the age of 9 he started playing the piano and keyboards. At the age of 13 Kristoffer grew a bigger interest in rock and hard rock and started playing bass guitar and drums in local school bands. When he was 14 years old, he decided to focus on bass guitar as his main instrument and started taking lessons at the local music school. In 1994 to 1998 Kristoffer attended the Esthetic Music Gymnasium (Highschool) of Eskilstuna. In November 1994 Kristoffer was asked to fill in on bass for one show on his brothers band Pain of Salvation and in 1995 he was asked to join the band.

Old Days -1

Pain of Salvation: (1995 - 2006)

In the genre of progressive metal/rock, Kristoffer Gildenlöw is perhaps best known for his eleven year career (1995-2006) as bass player for world-renowned Swedish band, Pain of Salvation (PoS).
The band released the highly acclaimed album “Entropia” in 1997 and the progressive hard rock world would never be the same again.
For their second album “One Hour by the Concrete Lake” (OHBTCL) 1998, they had signed to InsideOut Music in Germany and this is where PoS has stayed ever since.
With OHBTCL, PoS started becoming one of the most popular bands in the genre with regular touring and festival shows.
With the following releases, The Perfect Element, Part I (2000), Remedy Lane (2002), 12:5 (2003) and BE (2004), PoS proved their place at the top of the genre.


Session Musician: (1995–present)

In 2003, Kristoffer left Sweden to reside in The Netherlands. In 2006, after 11 years together, Kristoffer split ways with Pain of Salvation and spent the next six years focusing on creating his first solo album. But he also remained active in the music scene, recording bass, double bass, cello and vocals for various artists and bands all over the world. In addition to studio recordings, Kristoffer is in high demand for his bass skills as a session musician for live performances and touring. As session musician from 1995 until present day, Kristoffer has performed on over thirty studio recordings of many prominent artists and bands and alongside his own career, Kristoffer is still an active session musician. (See complete discography).